Cast in Place/red neck… Post Scriptum

So, as I promised here are some pics of the finished project. I hate showing my work in unfinished environment but I am not sure when I am going back to that place…

Everything turned out pretty good. It took me at least 1 extra day to finish(nothing new). I made one adjustment to the stainless sink(it turned out I made a mistake) and that cost me several hundred dollars in sink replacement… At least I have one more sink that I can still use..

The clients were happy and I must say very pleasant throughout the whole project, very accommodating.  Most of my clients are like that, not all, but most, which makes my life a bit easier…

Here are some pics. I guess they dont need explanation. The quality of pictures is not great but that is the best at this moment.

I did use Blue Concrete’s black stainz on my outdoor countertops

http://store.blueconcrete.com/stainz-1/

-the effect was simply beautiful/rugged finish yet polished as the client put it, I would add that it looked like worn leather. What gave me that look was probably the combination of troweled concrete and grinding to expose sand a bit.  For the sealers I used miracles 511 penetrating for outdoor and Hydroguard for interior.

Oh, if anyone is interested in my mix design for this job…

Sakrete 5000 plus with additional white cement.. very fancy.

cast in place concrete counter top

troweled finish

I was still applying stainz here

outdoor concrete counter top, ground finish,black stainz

outdoor concrete counter top, black stainz

Thanks for reading.

5 thoughts on “Cast in Place/red neck… Post Scriptum

  1. Remik, how do you deal with the mess of a cast in place? I consider myself a pretty good troweller but I am an admitted slob when it comes to making a mess. Would love to do a cast in place but worried about mess.

  2. Jared. I am not the most organized person either… From what I remember every cast in place job I did was in a place that was still under construction so some additional dust did not bother anybody. The most delicate part of the whole project are the cabinets. You always have to remove the fronts and protect the boxes as much as you can. If you can set up your mixing station outdoors this becomes not that difficult. You can easily contain your mess to minimum if you prep yourself. I have also sprayed grfc on site. Everything is possible.

  3. Hi. I absolutely love the countertops that you did here. I know you said that you got the worn leather look on the interior countertop by troweling and grinding. Can you explain this more? I really want to know how some of the area is light and some of it is darker. Did you do much hand sanding? Anything that you can tell me I appreciate. Thanks!

  4. Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this content together. I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

Leave a comment